Gaming Etiquette

There are quite a few websites out there with a handy list of “Do’s and Don’ts” which don’t take very long to peruse. The lists are not extensive, but offer a quick and easy guide to making more friends than enemies, and to keep precious game time fruitful and fun.

For me, the three most annoying things that one player can do to another are Kill Stealing, Node Stealing, and Ignoring.

Kill Stealing occurs when you’ve cleared the way to a boss and are restoring your health or power to prepare to take him on.  Suddenly, another player runs past you and hits that boss, effectively “stealing” him.  Now you have to wait for the respawn.  It’s just plain annoying.

Node Stealing is similar. Here’s the scenario: you come upon a crafting resource node such as ore or wood, but there’s a mob right next to it.  You have to kill that mob to get to the node.  But while you’re engaged in battle, some little twerp runs in and nabs the ore.  How rude is that?

The last thing that gets to me is getting Ignored.  No, not put on someone’s Ignore list.  Say you’re down to your last sliver of health – or even dead – and other players just run on by.  No heal popped, no one joining in to save your rear.  Makes me glad it’s not my physical body lying in the street.

So how do different gaming communities rate?

The worst in my experience is World of Warcraft (WoW). If you like to do underhanded things to other players, and don’t mind when it’s done back to you, then this is the place for you. Anti-etiquette seems to be the norm on the few servers that I’ve tried. Kill Stealing, Node Stealing, and Ignoring happen all the time, along with a lot of choice words in chat.

Star Wars: The Old Republic (SWTOR) comes next. The players there generally abide by the standard rules, but once in while you’ll run across a selfish moron who steals your kill. But generally other players will heal you, and don’t swipe nodes.

And the winner for the most etiquette-based gaming community: Lord of the Rings Online (LotRO). I’ve only had two nodes stolen from me in five years! Other players will jump in and help you in a tough fight and if your toon goes down for the count, you will get a rez. Also, most players will send you an invite to group up if you’re both going after the same boss. Most importantly, when LOTRO opened up Eastern Rohan, they introduced “open-tapping.”  Even if someone else “steals” your kill, just do one point of damage and you get credit for the kill as well.

What other good and bad gaming communities have you found out there?

2 thoughts on “Gaming Etiquette

  1. Your grasp of the subject of gaming is refreshingly comprehensive and cogent. I have some limited experience playing multiplayer Halo. (I hope you don’t mind me getting terminal about dusty-old Halo as a response to your more-modern oriented games.) Unless I want onions sprouting from my armpits, I avoid those games…Halo was FUN. I never thought I’d have an experience more immersive than the flight simulators I had tried — Halo, of course, unabashedly got the idea for a small part of the game from the Larry Niven/Jerry Pournelle sci-fi book “Ringworld”. Games such as Steam’s Half-Life 2 left some moldy cheese in my mouse. Now, that game had a sinister, depressive theme. After I got done with Half-Life 2: schlepping stuff over the simulated landscapes in cyberspace was too much like work! Well, sorry for the rambling post. GREAT SITE!

    Like

    • Thanks Mark. I’ve never played Halo, but I’ve heard about through the grapevine.

      The community on LOTRO’s Landroval server has quite the reputation for their adherence to great game play and interaction. I’m not sure if you’d like it though, because it is a tremendous gaming world (and they’re not done yet).

      Like

What do you think?

