Locked in a Genre Box

As I peruse author blogs geared toward helping indie writers market themselves, I keep seeing particular sentiments repeating themselves: You have to pick a genre and stick to it. If you change genres, you should publish under a different name. And so on. Each tidbit of information seems to be another wall in the genre box.

That may be well and good for others, but not me. Since I wear many different hats, I write like that as well.  If you’ve been scanning my blog posts, you may have noted that the categories are diverse. Also, if you noticed the links for my short stories, you would note that Martha’s Kitchen is horror, while Stasis has a Libertarian theme.

I was raised on Hitchcock and The Twilight Zone. Therefore, I sometimes lean that way when I write. But I am also a Libertarian, and likewise, I sometimes let my creative juices flow in that direction. I also love J.R.R. Tolkien, Role Playing Games (RPG’s) like the classic Dungeons & Dragons or Pathfinder, along with some online versions. So it’s no surprise that my novel will fall under the Fantasy category.

Are you locked in a genre box? What advantages or disadvantages have you found in sticking to a genre, or in attacking multiple fields?

2 thoughts on “Locked in a Genre Box

  1. I’m sort of kind of in a genre but only in the sense all of my books are morality traps. By more typical genre standards I’ve written a historical fiction, a literary thriller, an adventure/satire and a post apocalyptic sci-fi.

    That said, the morality trap aspect is, I feel, strong enough to unite all four into a coherent whole.

    Like

What do you think?

