The Twilight Zone of Reviews

I just got my third short story listed on Amazon and Barnes & Noble in keeping with my New Year’s writing goals. I remember listing the first one and worrying about reviews. Well, the first six are in and they’re all either 4 or 5 star ratings. Phew, what a relief!

What struck me about them was how two of the reviewers made similar observations that there was a hint of Rod Serling in my work. Probably quite true, I was raised on watching reruns of The Twilight Zone when I was young. I could watch it with my friends, sisters, or “square” parents. It just didn’t matter with that show, and still doesn’t. I just DVR’d a bunch of them during the New Year’s marathon and lately I’ve been curling up with my wife to watch them after dinner.

My third short story, A Purveyor of Odd Things, is up and I wonder what reviews will say about this one. I’m especially interested because of the preamble to this story. When I first presented it to my critique group, one of them said “That sounds like something Rod Serling would say to introduce a Twilight Zone episode.”

Let’s see what happens!

What do you think?

