Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend by Nonnie Jules

Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend starts with a proverbial bang and doesn’t let up. The saga of the main character Maiya James is a gut-wrenching punch from beginning to end. It makes the reader want to rail against the hypocrisy of our so-called justice system, and against dysfunctional parents.

However, author Nonnie Jules balances all things. She presents us with starkly good and evil characters. For example, evil parents are juxtaposed with saintly grandparents. The same goes for the representations of guards, inmates, peers, and lovers.

DDNF1


With that said, I purchased the print version of Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend, and found quite a few format errors. Double spacing between paragraphs, no indentation, all dialog in italics (sometimes all caps), and quite a few instances of choosing to “tell” instead of “show.”
Normally, the errors listed above serve as a large stumbling block to a reader, but I got accustomed to it after a couple of chapters. With such a powerful story and characters, I looked past the formatting because I was pulled into the novel.

The psychology of the main character is believable. I’ve read about others who have had experiences like Maiya; her personality traits and habits were quite realistic. However, further explanation would constitute “spoiling.”

Congratulations, Nonnie Jules, this novel is certainly a page-turner.

9 thoughts on “Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend by Nonnie Jules

  1. I find it very difficult to plow through a book that is formatted poorly, so I am glad you persevered. I have a friend who had someone format her novel. Then she put it up on Amazon. I emailed her and said, “Did you know there are no paragraph breaks?” She did not know because she had assumed it was correctly done. She sent it back to her formatter, who redid it at no cost. Unfortunately, everyone who bought it before the reformatting had a faulty copy. I hope Nonnie Jules will have hers reformatted.

    Like

  2. I read the ebook and found a couple of typos and spacing in a couple of places – thats all. Nothing stood out that would alert me to formatting issues. It was a great read because I was able to get through it with no errors to stop the flow of my thoughts. I do think we all have to be careful with amazon ebooks because so many problems can occur and you don’t even know it. I had to take my book down off kindle after being made to produce it myself because it was not formatted properly and looked a mess. Then somehow between my publisher and amazon they lost the ebook they produced and then it suddenly reappeared. The price was marked down and right after someone in the club purchased it the price went back up. My plan now is to get away from my publisher and get that ebook taken down and put up another one that is priced correctly. Now where do I start? Its awful!

    Like

    • I have the print version. I have never seen the original version from Nonnie’s computer. Therefore I prefer to saying a format error rather than an error in writing-mechanics.
      Hmmm I can smell a new blog post for the Writing Journey category.

      Like

What do you think?

