NaNoWriMo is Almost Upon Us

Another November is about to come around again, and that means it’s NaNoWriMo time! For those of you who haven’t heard of it, #NaNoWriMo is National Novel Writing Month. I have never really been a participant. There was one in April 2014, and I tried (but only half-heartedly) and managed to squeeze out one chapter, as evidenced by an earlier blog post Thank You NaNoWriMo for Chapter 14 .

nanowrimobadge

Image courtesy of National Novel Writing Month

I’ve read a couple of interesting blog posts about it and now I’ve decided to really give it a whirl. There are supposedly prizes, badges, and other accolades for authors who complete their novel and reach their word-count goal. I’m not concerned about winning a contest though; I really want to just finish the first draft of my #fantasy novel The First Light, and move on, as they say.

A blog post by Mark, The Aspirant Wordificer, seems to have prodded me into this decision. So why did this particular post inspire me? The article has espoused the same feelings about NaNoWriMo that I harbored. He worked it out in a rather logical / comical way. I laughed quite a bit because it was almost as if I had written that post. I feel the same desire to finish, coupled with the same anticipation of frustration and aggravation from a mountain of papers to edit.

Besides putting yourself on task, NaNoWriMo is also a great way to meet other #indieauthors, scout the forums for some great links, or #writetips and maybe make a few more author friends.

Are you going to try your hand during this November’s NaNoWriMo?

 

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo is Almost Upon Us

  1. Thanks, Ernesto, for those kind words. I’m gonna follow your NaNoWriMo progress with gusto! I’m just getting ready to kick it off myself, in just a couple of hours or so.
    Glad you’re on board!

    Like

  2. I love Nanowrimo as an idea, and I love how it inspires people, but no. There’s just no way I could do it. A really, really productive day for me is 1,000 words and a small novel takes me 18-24 months. I think if I went any faster I’d outrun my ability to make sense of the novel.

    This is a big deal for me because by far my biggest challenge is plotting. I think the reason for that is I try to make everything in the book mean/refer to/imply 8 other things. If I go too fast, all those references and subtexts get jumbled. If they get jumbled, it’s usually too intricate for me to straighten back out.

    Like

    • I didn’t think that I was capable either. But I thought that I’d like to see what would happen to my writing if I had a proverbial match under my butt.
      So far, it’s been good, and I’ve met other local indie writers. Idaho seems to have a pretty intense writing scene going on.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

