#NaNoWriMo 2014: +++ The End +++

I know that November isn’t over yet, but for me NaNoWriMo 2014 is done. I also know that I didn’t make the 50K word count, but that wasn’t my goal anyway.

nanowrimobadge

Image Courtesy of National Novel Writing Month

My #fantasy novel “The First Light” had a word count of around 38K on November 1st. My goal was to finish the first draft, and I had hoped that this year’s NaNoWriMo event would push me along. It did.

I added 23K words this month to the first draft of my manuscript, and I was able to type those glorious words “+++ The End +++”.

Yes, I’m glad that I got to do that. What #author wouldn’t be? However, I do feel like I’ve just lost an old friend. I know that my friend will be back when the editing process begins in a couple of months.

A current #wrtitetip states that an author should put their manuscript away and leave it alone for two months. But that doesn’t mean that I’m going to cease writing. I have a backlog of short stories to edit. Those stories will afford me the opportunity to hone my editing skills before going back to the novel.

Has NaNoWriMo 2014 been good for you too?

14 thoughts on “#NaNoWriMo 2014: +++ The End +++

  1. Well done, Ernesto, I’m happy you made it all the way to ‘The End’! And now you can…relax…put your feet up…and think about all the editing you’ve got to do!
    I’m trying not to think of the editing part. For the past 4 days I’ve been doing between 4-5k words a day purely because it is the last stage in the NaNo’ing and I’m at 43k words. I know I’ll get it finished in time.
    Looking forward to being where you are!

    Like

  2. IMPRESSIVE! Congrats, my friend.

    Do you find that the time you spend blogging assists or distracts from your other writing goals? (Sometimes it leaves ME scrambling – wondering how others manage it)

    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Like

What do you think?

