Here’s My 2015 Reading List

An author should also be an avid reader. Upon reading the list below, you may notice that I’m not locked into any particular genre or type of book. You’ll see fiction and non-fiction of various sorts and subjects. Rather than make a long blog post about the value of reading, I prefer to make a note below to each title about why I have chosen each particular work.

books

Photo by Megan and used under CC license

The Joy of the Gospel by Pope Francis

I’m Catholic and he’s the Pope – need I say more? But seriously, I am truly interested in what Pope Francis has to say about the gospels. Some of the stories I’ve heard about Pope Francis while he was the Archbishop of Buenos Aires makes me want some insight from this very special man.

The Science before Science by Dr. Anthony Rizzi

I saw Dr. Rizzi on EWTN Live one night and was fascinated. He sees no conflict between science and the Church. Too often they are portrayed as enemies at each other’s throats. Of course, he also reminds us that it was the Catholic Church that invented the science that we have today.

Orthodoxy by G.K. Chesterton

Author and columnist, G.K. Chesterton is also known as “The Apostle of Common Sense.” His works vary greatly from novels to non-fiction, but the themes are usually the same. How does the truth of theology clash with modern western society? I’ve seen the series about him on EWTN, and it’s always intriguing. There is also a website for the Chesterton Society.

The Blackguard by Ben Garrido

I find the concept of this book utterly irresistible. Imagine an enclave of people living according to their own rules in modern America. I started reading this book last year and then had to put it down (with the rest of my life) on account of moving across the country. If I were teaching a sociology class, I would assign this book.

Also, Ben Garrido’s blog articles are always an academic and illuminating treat.

Over My Dead Body by Bruce Borders

From what I’ve read about Bruce, he seems like a real Texas Libertarian. Many Libertarian authors (myself included) are making frightening predictions about the iron hand of government. Imagine if the government took away your child without any proper justification. That’s the premise of Bruce’s novel. I also know that this book was released just a month or two before an actual story eerily similar to Bruce’s novel hit the news cycle.

The Spanish Inquisition: A Historical Revision by Henry Kamen

It never ceases to amaze me how many people are just sucked in by the anti-Catholic myths that were generated around the time of Henry VIII and the English “Cold War” with Spain. I plan on writing some historical fiction concerning these myths, so this will be the start of my research. Now I just need to find a few good titles on Galileo and Pope Pius XII (I know that most of the definitive titles about Pope Pius XII are by Sister Marchione; just haven’t decided on which one to buy).

Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson

I can’t resist a good fantasy novel, and I’ve heard many positive things about this one in particular. Since I’m writing a fantasy novel, it seems like a good idea to read some well-written fantasy. Brandon can describe magic, world-build, and get into character’s minds in a smooth and non-heavy-handed manner.

Writing About Magic by Rayne Hall

I’ve read another title by Rayne Hall called Writing Fight Scenes. Her research is so exhaustive and complete that when I saw this title, I knew I had to have it. I know authors can go a bit wacky with the self-help writing guides, but I do not. This is my fourth book in two years.

I also need to choose a few more books from the Rave Reviews official list. There are so many titles and genres by so many talented authors. Help me out with a suggestion…or two or three.

10 thoughts on “Here’s My 2015 Reading List

  1. My suggestions are from the past, but good.

    INSIDE THE THIRD REICH albert Speer
    When the Sacred Gin Mill Closes Lawrence Block
    The Guns of August Barbara Tuckman
    My Life and Hard Times James Thurber
    Fear and Loathing in Las Vagus Hunter S. Thomas
    Middlemarch George Eliot

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Vicki! Thanks for dropping by and contributing.
    I think I remember a TV movie (I’m showing my age here) called Inside the Third Reich. If memory serves, Albert Speer was Hitler’s architect and a member of the inner circle.
    I have a natural proclivity toward dystopia. Therefore, I have read quite a bit about Nazi Germany. Night by Elie Wiesel was horrifying and unforgettable.

    Like

  3. I like self-help writing books too, and I’ve read about a dozen in the past four years. “Writing About Magic” wasn’t one of them, so I’ll check it out.

    Because I write fantasy too, I have several books about magic, herbs and stones. They help give me a solid knowledge on the subject.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. After reading the description of “Writing About Magic”, it reminded me of a handy manual I own: “Dungeon and Dragons Master Guide”

    I played D&D for about ten years (1980s), so bought the book for the game. I found it very handy to learn the basics of spells and weapons. It was my handbook I studied between games. There is also a monster guide available.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

