R.I.P. Leonard Nimoy (Mr. Spock)

If you’ve never watched a single episode of #StarTrek or if you hate science-fiction, you’ve still heard of Mr. Spock.  The television mythology of Star Trek has permeated our cultural identity and psyche.

Yesterday I heard the news about the passing of Leonard Nimoy, who so deftly portrayed the Enterprise’s Vulcan science officer. I am old enough to remember the original Star Trek when it was a new show. Therefore this is not a typical celebrity death for me. I could say that I’ve known and admired his work my whole life:-)

Spock

by NBC Television [Public Domain] via Wikimedia Commons

Besides bringing the character Mr. Spock to life, Leonard Nimoy was “Paris” on Mission Impossible, and hosted a show called “In Search of…” He also directed “Three Men and a Baby”, the rather controversial “The Good Mother”, and “Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home.”

He has credits on IMDB for acting, directing, and writing.

Live Long and Prosper (for eternity)!

4 thoughts on “R.I.P. Leonard Nimoy (Mr. Spock)

  1. The first episode of Star Trek aired the year before I was born, so I can’t say I watched the ‘original’ broadcast. I can however say I watched all the original episodes in reruns throughout the decades. My oldest brother (18 years older) loved the show, so I often sat with him to watch them when they reappeared on TV.

    Although many boast they love other versions of Star Trek (Next Generation, ect.) and other captains and crew, I always preferred the original. There was something simplistic and intriguing about the casts’ ability to create the story. I didn’t need all the high-tech special effects.

    For me, Captain Kirk will always be the only Captain and Spock will always be the First Officer.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

