When You’re Left Behind

I am not referring that book and later TV series. I’m talking about what happens when you’re a military spouse and your significant other (in my case it’s my wife) is sent overseas.

That’s the reason why you haven’t seen me blogging for the last couple of months. The adjustment is difficult and I’ve been bogged down. Many other things demanded my attention.

Evening is the worst part of each day. I’m accustomed to her not being around during the day. But with each sunset, we’re not together. Either enjoying dinner, snuggled on the couch, reading, or playing LOTRO (Lord of the Rings on Line).

For those who been visiting this blog for a while know about my love of cooking. But when there’s nobody to share it with, it loses its appeal.

However, on the writing front, I formed a new on-line critique group. My fantasy novel is just getting better all the time. With each passing week, noticeable refinements are put into place. The short stories are doing well too.  The small critique group here in town has provided me with a few insights on my shorts stories.

Tell me how you’re doing?

7 thoughts on “When You’re Left Behind

  1. Happy to hear from you again, Ernesto.

    Life as I know it continues to be busy. Like you, I haven’t been blogging much, but there’s lots of writing going on behind the scenes. Spring and summer adds the extra tasks of planting and tending to gardens, but oh the rewards I will reap come harvest time.

    An online critique groups sounds like a wonderful idea. Every writer needs a support group, people they can bounce ideas and stories off of.

    I wish your wife a safe and speedy return. Take care.

    Like

  2. Ernesto I’m sorry to hear that you are alone right now. That can be a bummer. Haven’t seen you around much in the club. Are you active? I just came out with a new book in April, Crazy! Hot! And Living On The Edge!! on Amazon. I’m sharing my upside down crazy life at one time before I met and married my husband. It was hard for me to write but adding humor helped me to get through it. I don’t think I’m done with the current book but its out there now. Its good that you are writing some more. I know you had some starts and stops.

    Like

    • Hi Shirley.
      Sounds like a great idea for a book. I don’t know how you turn them all out so quickly. I’ll try to check it out when I’m done with a current beta read for a friend in the San Antonio Writer’s Guild.
      Thanks for stopping by:-)

      Like

What do you think?

