Camp NaNoWriMo 2016

I know that some don’t give the April #CampNaNoWriMo the same attention as the main NaNoWriMo event in November. However, I am going to approach 2016’s Camp NaNo with all of the same seriousness as the November event for the first time.

Editing can be a more grueling process than writing a first draft. To be honest, I’ve had it up to here (my hand is under my chin) with editing. I’ll gladly switch hats for the next thirty days.

campNano

To Display My Sincerity

My writer’s group has decided to change our April meetings from critique sessions to write-ins. We are also going to make the pilgrimage to Boise in order to write with our comrades in the Treasure Valley Group. They tend to sponsor a lot of write-ins in the local Barnes & Noble. A perfect situation, I get to write, and my wife gets to browse. Rather, she’ll say she’s going to browse, but will wind up with a stack of books at the cash register.

What Will I Write?

Well, I did not finish the draft of my second fantasy novel, “The Frozen War.” Although the first one, “An Easterly Sojourn” is not yet edited, I decided to start the second. Remember, you can’t edit a blank page. Of course how much better will it be that after publishing the first novel, I can jump right in and start editing the second one.

***Put Ragged Souls on your Kindle at Amazon U.S.***

The Best Part

I don’t mercilessly push myself during a NaNo event. There’s no sweating of blood or feelings inadequacy due to not meeting a goal. I simply look at the files at the end of the month and get a sense of satisfaction from a stack of pages that wouldn’t exist were it not for NaNo. That doesn’t mean that I approach it half-heartedly either. I simply allot more time for writing and attend write-ins.

What about you?

What writing project will you work on?

12 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo 2016

  1. I have not heard of this CampNaNoWriMo until now. So obviously I won’t be participating. If I had to choose a month to dedicate to writing, it would be January or February–months that keep me home because of weather, and there is no garden to set, animals to kid, winter to prepare for or craft shows to attend.

    I wish you the best in your writing month. I’ll be editing this month, and once this book is done, I’m set to write 100,000 words of the next book in May, June and July.

    Like

  2. I wrote the first third of my first novel during a NaNo event, though I didn’t finish it til years later. Of course, now I know the value of the writing community, I see that I’d probably have made quicker progress if I’d got more involved, instead of slogging on myself.

    Like

What do you think?

