R.I.P. Gene Wilder

A long time ago I saw Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, probably its first airing on television.  Just a few years later, I saw The Producers. Both of these iconic American comedies starred Gene Wilder. Of course Gene went on to do two more wonderful films with Mel Brooks like Blazing Saddles and Young Frankenstein, in the 1970’s. These films are on My Favorite Movies of the 1970’s post.

GW

Public Domain Image

The 1970’s saw his first on-screen partnership with Richard Pryor in Silver Streak. Later, in the 1980’s they would join forces again for Stir Crazy and See No Evil, Hear No Evil. Wilder also partnered with his wife Gilda Radner for a few films.

Thank you Gene, for the many years of laughter you’ve given to all of us. Comedy that is so timeless, that I find myself laughing at the same jokes over and over.

I think I’ll snuggle on the couch with my wife tonight and watch Young Frankenstein. What are you going to watch to honor Gene Wilder’s memory?

3 thoughts on “R.I.P. Gene Wilder

What do you think?

