My 50 Favorite Movies of the 00’s (Psst that’s 2000-2009)

Well fellow movie buffs, here ya go! This is the final installment of “My Favorite Films Listings,” until 2020 rolls around and I have another decade of film to make yet another list.

I’ve covered the 1930’s   1940’s   1950’s   1960’s   1970’s   1980’s  and 1990’s.

This list has more foreign films, and more women directors than any other movie list that I’ve compiled.

50.   The Chronicles of Narnia…d. Andrew Adamson (USA / UK)

49.   Hot Fuzz…d. Edgar Wright (UK)

48.   Bread and Tulips…d. Silvio Soldani (Italy)

47.   Bruce Almighty…d. Tom Shadyac

46.   Austin Powers in Goldmember…d. Jay Roach

45.   Avatar…d. James Cameron

44.   300…d. Zack Snyder

43.   Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind…d. Michael Gondry

42.   Donny Darko…d. Richard Kelly

41.   The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King…d. Peter Jackson (N.Z. / USA)

movies10

Public Domain Image Courtesy of Pixabay

Have you ever seen those you tube videos of an angry Hitler with the subtitles changed to seem like he’s talking about World of Warcraft or something? Well that clip is from #35 Downfall.

40.   American Psycho…d. Mary Harron

39.   Black Hawk Down…d. Ridley Scott

38.   Children of Men…d. Alfonso Cuarón (USA / UK / Japan)

37.   The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers…d. Peter Jackson (N.Z. / USA)

36.   Underworld…d. Len Wiseman

35.   Downfall…d. Oliver Hirschbiegel (Germany)

34.   Black Book…d. Paul Verhoeven (Netherlands / Ger. / UK / Belgium)

33.   Under the Tuscan Sun…d. Audrey Wells

32.   Hotel Rwanda…d. Terry George (UK / South Africa / Italy)

31.   Ella Enchanted…d. Tommy O’Haver

Not as many comedies as my other lists. I guess Mel Brooks really did retire.

 30.   Spy Game…d. Tony Scott

29.   13 Tzametti…d. Géla Babluani (France)

28.   Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones…d. George Lucas

27.   Little Miss Sunshine…d. Jonathon Dayton / Valerie Faris

26.   Á L’aventure…d. Jean-Claude Brisseau (France)

25.   Julie & Julia…d. Nora Ephron

24.   The Aviator…d. Martin Scorsese

23.   V for Vendetta…d. James McTeigue (USA / UK / Ger.)

22.   Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone…d. Chris Columbus (UK / USA)

21.   Open Range…d. Kevin Costner

Austin Powers is not the first time super spies like James Bond were spoofed. The “Flint” series from the 1960’s started that trend. Now the French have picked up on it with #11 OSS 117.

20.   Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon…d. Ang Lee (Taiwan)

19.   Enemy at the Gates…d. Jean-Jacques Annaud

18.   The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo…d. Niels Arden Oplev (Sweden / Denmark / Ger. / Norway)

17.   Pitch Black…d. David Twohy

16.   Harold & Kumar Go to White Castle…d. David Leiner

15.   The Prestige…d. Christopher Nolan

14.   The Gleaners and I…d. Agnès Varda (France)

13.   Love Actually…d. Richard Curtis (USA / UK / France)

12.   The Lives of Others…d. Florian Henckel Von Donnersmarck (Germany)

11.   OSS 117: Cairo, Nest of Spies…d. Michel Hazanavicius (France)

I’m sure there will be blood in the comments concerning my top ten.

10.   Pan’s Labyrinth…d. Guillermo Del Toro (Spain)

09.   There Will Be Blood…d. Paul Thomas Anderson

08.   Schultze Gets the Blues…d. Michael Schorr (Germany)

07.   Amélie…d. Jean-Pierre Jeunet (France)

06.   Bend It Like Beckham…d. Gurinder Chadha (UK)

05.   Flame and Citron…d. Ole Christian Madsen (Denmark)

04.   The Lord of the Rings:Fellowship of the Ring d. Peter Jackson (N Z/USA)

03.   Gangs of New York…d. Martin Scorsese

02.   Lost in Translation…d. Sofia Coppolla

01.   The Passion of the Christ…d. Mel Gibson

DON’T GO – COMMENT BELOW

Click the pic below and go straight to Ernesto San Giacomo’s AMAZON PAGE!

4titlead

2 thoughts on “My 50 Favorite Movies of the 00’s (Psst that’s 2000-2009)

  1. I’ll first say, I haven’t seen half these movies. It is either because I’ve not heard of them, or I saw the trailer, and that was good enough for me.

    The Star Wars movies of this era disappointed me. I had hoped for something bigger and better than the first three REAL Star Wars movies, but that didn’t happen. “Attack of the Clones” bored me to no end. During the 20-minute battle scene, I got up to get something to eat, and said to the others with me, “Let me know when all the ‘ping, ping, ping” stops and the story continues”.

    I enjoyed the “Lord of the Rings” movies to a certain degree. They weren’t great. Fighting horrible-looking creatures by the thousands is like fighting storm troopers except storm troopers don’t ooze stuff. I understand they weren’t going for story value, mostly special effects and battles. They–like the Star Wars movies of this era–appeal to a certain type of audience. I’m not that type. I prefer story over action, though I love action and adventure with a real story.

    When I was told “Avatar” had a 20-minute battle scene, I decided to skip it. Battle scenes bore me, particularly when they involve mostly machines.

    I did see the Narnia movies, and of everything on your list, I would place them first on my list.

    “Lost in Translation” is on our “On Demand” package, and I have been tempted to watch it. Perhaps I will.

    Since “Lethal Weapon 2”, I have banned Mel Gibson from my eyes. This was the movie that made me realise his lust for violence. I despise his horrid, vivid violence. It was sad because I adored him in everything up until then.

    I see “Big Fish” came out in 2003. I really liked that movie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I understand Diane, because I typically despise blood, guts, and gore. One reason that I do not read or watch Game of Thrones. However, an intense battle or action scene doesn’t bother me at all.
      The LOTR series was well made, but as you can see, the first one impressed me so much more than the others.
      “Lost in Translation” is truly a dual character study. Bill Murray at his best.

      Like

What do you think?

