A New Short Story

Although it will not be ready for another month or two, I finished a new long short story last night. Right now it stacks up at 22 pages, but with my scant writing style, I can see it expanding to almost 30 pages.

The end came as a pleasant surprise. #NaNoWriMo ended almost a month ago, and I’ve been furiously editing my fantasy novel “An Easterly Sojourn.” For some reason, I got the #amwriting bug a few days ago and hammered out the last half of the new short. The first half had been floundering in stasis for over a year. Then in an instant, the rest of this very complicated plot flashed in my mind.

crystal

Public Domain Image Courtesy of Pixabay

I never told or discussed this story with my resident grammar nazi…editor…wife…um…The Queen. I felt that it would be important for her to read through it without any previous knowledge. Therefore, I’d know if the plot got too confusing, had glaring holes, or paths of least resistance were sufficiently blocked. Also, some characters have more than one name. I was somewhat worried about that as well. In the end, she read through it without confusion. Phew (*wipes brow), looks like I’ve managed to handle those potential baddies.

What will win in the end, love or greed? Well you’ll have to read it to find out. You didn’t really think I’d offer a spoiler at this moment, did you?

At first, this short story had the working title “The Psychic.” However, after numerous attempts to re-title, I’ve narrowed it down to two others, either “Psychic Games,” or “Psychic Confidence.” I’m leaning heavily toward the latter over the former.

Keep an eye out for a cover reveal in January

What have you written lately? DON’T GO – COMMENT BELOW!

Click the Pic and Go Straight to Ernesto’s Author page on AMAZON!

4titlead

 

4 thoughts on “A New Short Story

  1. WOW!

    IT’S A BOY!!! The best to both you and Ruth, it is great news! Hope you had a great Christmas and a happy new year too.. When are we going to hear from you guys? We keep in touch with your mom. But would like to speak to you both also. Just got back after 3 weeks in Italy, all Calabria, boy it’s another country down there, and you can throw a rock and hit people in Sicily ( not recommended), but got to tell you all about it. I drove the car off the road and it was hanging over a wall, you have to hear it to find out why I was the only one who thought it was funny, no one has a real sense of humor anymore. Once again, great news for you both. Please call us , or I’ll call you, just send me your 3, or I can get it from Celeste. 718-273-8822; 718-815-0542; 718-801-2295cell, leave message we’ll get back. Your dad would be crazy happy about the news and of course telling everyone he had a phone# for, and then some, I wouldn’t blame him. We miss you both and hope to hear from you soon.

    Sincerely,

    Bob & john & Shiloh

    p.s. Looking forward to your new book. $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

