7 Easy Tips for Indie-Authors

I’ve noticed many memes or progress posts by indie-authors on Facebook and Twitter like “Wrote 2.5k today.” Of course, when such messages pop-up at around 10:30am, one has to wonder if the author’s blazing fingers melted the keyboard. Writing has to be done because we all understand the classic tidbit of wisdom that you can’t edit a blank page. However, some indie-authors should learn how to live life. Therefore, I’ve put together a small list to combat the typical bad habits that plague indie-authors. Hopefully, these tips will help the writing / editing process.

First: Open a window and breathe. That stuff you smell is called fresh air. Your body and brain needs oxygen, don’t deprive yourself.

Second: I’m sure there’s a place where you can order a couple of poached eggs and toast. Hotpockets, snickers bars, pizza rolls, and Twinkies* do not constitute a diet.

*I’ve discovered a widely held belief among indie-authors. Chocolate or fudge covered Twinkies are considered a healthier alternative to the standard Twinkie. Many authors believe the coating prevents bacteria or other micro-organisms from penetrating the cake and cream filling. 🙂 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Third: Once a day, or for once in your life. Please put down the coffee mug or shot glass and try a glass of water or juice. Man does not live by bread alone, nor should indie-authors live by caffeine alone.

Fourth: Take a break. Even prisoners on death row are given some time to roam outdoors. Time spent on social media like Facebook or Twitter is NOT considered break time. You’re still typing and reading!

Fifth: Socializing can be fun. Maybe we indie-authors should try it. Going to the coffee shop to have a critique session with other authors doesn’t count. Perhaps combine this one with a trip to the diner.

Sixth: Please give your cat(s) some play time. There is an indie-author / cat owner corollary. After all, you are their human and they need attention too. Remember, cat lives matter!

Seventh: Just look at the disarray on your writing desk. When do you plan on cleaning it? There is probably a better place for the piles of notes and craft books. If you’re a voracious reader, then you should have shelves or a bookcase somewhere?

I’m sure this list can be expanded. If you’ve got an idea drop a comment below. Also, are you guilty of any of the above habits? I know I am, just look at the photographic evidence of the Twinkie.  🙂

Every Time You Reply – “Little Frankie” Doesn’t Cryfrancesco25

4titlead

6 thoughts on “7 Easy Tips for Indie-Authors

  1. A humorous piece. Good. Humour keeps writers sane. As for the 2.5K by ten–guilty. But I’m up before six o’clock, have my bacon and eggs eaten shortly afterwards, then prepare for my writing day with tea in hand. This doesn’t happen every day, but last week I got hit with a story idea and within five days, I had 20,000 words down.

    I recommend a 15 minute Vitamin D break. When the sun is shining, I take it faithfully, out on the porch, in a chair, facing the sun. I’m still working though–eyes closed, rolling that story around in my mind. I also recommend baby goat breaks and chasing escaped goats through the tall grass, as well as a few miles of walking each day.

    As for Twinkies, I don’t believe I’ve ever eaten one. I satisfy my treat tooth with homemade biscuits and raspberry jam.

    Don’t get me started on my messy desk. It’s here somewhere.

    Like

What do you think?

