My Favorite Films of The 1980’s

Some of these might not be the greatest or even have any appeal to anyone. Some of these films are here because of the experiences I have had with them. Hanging out with my college buddies and watching these movies brings back many fond memories. While other films I discovered while taking classes in Cinema Studies.

filmstrip2

Public Domain Clip Art courtesy of Pixabay Openclips used under CC License

 

50. Raiders of the Lost Ark……….d. Steven Spielberg

49. The Terminator……….d. James Cameron

48. Ferris Bueller’s Day Off……….d. John Hughes

47. The Princess Bride……….d. Rob Reiner

46. A Passage to India……….d. David Lean (UK)

45. Ran……….d. Akira Kurosawa (Japan)

44. Full Metal Jacket……….d. Stanley Kubrick

43. Victor / Victoria……….d. Blake Edwards

42. Aliens……….d. James Cameron

41. The Elephant Man……….d.  David Lynch (UK/USA)

40. Airplane……….d. Jim Abrahams, Jerry Zucker,  David Zucker

39. Mephisto……….d. Istvan Szabo (W. Germany / Hungary / Austria)

38. Radio Days……….d. Woody Allen

37. Salvador……….d. Oliver Stone

36. Fast Times at Ridgemont High……….d. Amy Heckerling

35. Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home……….d. Leonard Nimoy

34. The Blues Brothers……….d. John Landis

33. Big Trouble in Little China……….d. John Carpenter

32. Highlander……….d. Russell Mulcahy  (UK)

31. Caddyshack……….d. Harold Ramis

30. Easy Money……….d. James Signorelli

29. Conan the Barbarian……….d. John Milius

28. The Money Pit……….d. Richard Benjamin

27. Back to School……….d. Alan Metter

26. Labyrinth……….d. Jim Henson

25. Pale Rider……….d. Clint Eastwood

24. Ghostbusters……….d. Ivan Reitman

23. Amadeus……….d. Milos Forman

22. Brazil………..d. Terry Gilliam

21. Fitzcarraldo……….d. Werner Herzog (W. Germany)

20. Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan……….d. Nicholas Meyer

19. Clash of the Titans……….d. Desmond Davis

18. Moscow Does Not Believe in Tears……….d. Vladimir Menshov (USSR)

17. My Beautiful Launderette……….d. Stephen Frears (UK)

16. The Empire Strikes Back……….d. George Lucas

15. Under Fire……….d. Roger Spottiswoode

14. Gandhi……….d. Richard Attenborough (UK / India)

13. Spaceballs……….d. Mel Brooks

12. Raging Bull……….d. Martin Scorsese

11. The Shining……….d. Stanley Kubrick

10. The Natural……….d. Barry Levinson

09. Pink Floyd: The Wall……….d. Alan Parker (UK)

08. The Right Stuff……….d. Phillip Kaufman

07. Blade Runner……….d. Ridley Scott

06. Sammie & Rosie Get Laid……….d. Stephen Frears (UK)

05. Cinema Paradiso……….d. Giuseppe Tornatore (Italy)

04. Koyaanisqatsi……….d. Godfrey Reggio

03. Queen of Hearts……….d. Jon Amiel (UK/USA)

02. Stop Making Sense……….d. Jonathan Demme

01. Wings of Desire……….d. Wim Wenders (W. Germany / France)

How do my favorites match-up with yours?

Ragged SoulsBlog

Click the Pic and go straight to Amazon!

8 thoughts on “My Favorite Films of The 1980’s

  1. Since I was a teen in the 80s, I saw most of these, and for the same reason, many have special memories attached because of the circumstances. Such as Raiders of the Lost Ark. I fell in love with Harrison Ford in this movie, and the friends I was with when I saw it made the memory even better.

    Then I was heart-broken when Harrison was frozen in Empire Strikes Back. I was too young to know it was only until the next movie. And Spaceballs. Well, what can I say? I laughed like a fool because I got all the jokes.

    Princess Bride: If I had to guess which movie in my life I watched the most, this would certainly be in the top five. The concept is pretty goofy and simple, when you think of it, yet this film hooks me in every time. I love it. I have it on DVD. I watch it every year. Maybe because it is so simple and basic, it grabs me. After all, who doesn’t want to believe in true love. It’s funny in all the right places.

    Thanks for the walk down memory lane. I think I’ll watch Princess Bride tonight. It’s been almost a year since I last saw it.

    Like

    • Ah yes, true love and The Princess Bride…inconceivable! 🙂
      As for “Spaceballs,” I met a woman at an airport, She had a monster suitcase on wheels. I looked at her and the monster and said. “Take only what you need to survive.” Without missing a beat she came right back and said, “It’s my industrial strength hair dryer and I can’t live without it.”
      Yep, I married her.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

