Ding Dong! Stork Calling

I truly am at a loss for words (isn’t that an incredible opening for a blog post) J

After my wife experienced a week of bouts with lingering nausea, I became suspicious. I asked her “Is it possible that you’re pregnant?” We quickly went to the pharmacy and picked up one of those home pregnancy test kits. She emerged from the bathroom and said, “It says I’m pregnant.”

We went over the instructions and decided to try again on Sunday morning. Same result. We were convinced, but knew not to say anything until a clinic confirmed the result with their test.

I paced all Monday morning waiting for the results.

Now, we know of the inevitable “Stork Visitation.” A barrage of phone calls and Facebook posts ensued.

stork

Which leaves only one more burning question; twins?

My mother-in-law is a twin and therefore the chances are pretty good that we’ll experience the same. Of course we will not know until further blood tests and sonograms are done.

It’s time to gather a stock pile of cow and pudgy maternity jokes. My wife has pleaded for me to put the proverbial “cork in it” i.e. refrain from such humorous witticisms. I’ve explained that it is impossible for a man of my vocabulary and comedic talent to resist such an opportunity. And let’s not forget those corn-ball dad jokes.

Our plans for the house have just drastically changed. It is time to roll up my sleeves and get to work on those renovations. Our planned guest room will now become the nursery, and our office will become the guest room. Which means that our computers will be shifted to the entry hall.

Got any good pregnancy stories concerning your brood?

10 thoughts on “Ding Dong! Stork Calling

  1. Now that I’m a grandfather of three, I have fond memories of our first pregnancy… the surprise (but why, you ask?), the jubilation, and then the terrors! Yes, home renovations too! This is truly survivable and I hope you both enjoy the months of anticipation!

    Like

  2. Congratulations. Your life has now been changed forever. I’ve got three here as proof that you are about to experience many emotions to the extreme. Just when you feel like crying, you’ll be laughing and vice versa.

    My advice is: lock away the breakable things you most value before the child starts moving on its own, and keep it locked up until they move out. Although they won’t mean to break it, they will.

    Like

What do you think?

